The Event

The Fellsman has over the years acquired an array of trophies to honour the success of its competitors:
The Fellsman Axe
Perhaps the most famous of our trophies the Fellsman Axe is a genuine flint axe-head with a silver haft, mounted in a presentation box. It was donated in 1962 by Don Thompson, the founder of the Fellsman Hike, and is awarded to the competitor with the fastest individual time.
The Jim Nelson Trophy
This miniature boot was specially made by Jim Nelson, a bootmaker and former District Commissioner of the North Craven Scout District. The trophy, first presented in 1968, is awarded to the female with the fastest individual time.
The Tregoning Cup
The Tregoning Cup was first presented in 1965 and is awarded to the fastest novice – that is a competitor who has entered the Fellsman for the first time.
The Levy Trophy
The Levy Trophy was donated in 1967 by the West Yorkshire Scout County and is awarded to the member of the Scout Association, entered by or representing a Scout Group, with the fastest individual time.
The County Commissioner’s Tankard
This engraved siver tankard, first presented in 1990, is awarded to the first person aged 50 or over to complete the event.
The Great Knoutberry Trophy
This trophy, depicting the landscape of the Fellsman, was hand-made in Yorkshire in 2006 and donated by hike veterans Terry Butterworth & Andrew Joynson. First presented in 2007, it is awarded to the first person aged 60 or over to complete the event.
The Old Kid’s Award
In 2016 a veteran of the event, Stuart Thompson, donated a new trophy for the fastest entrant over the age of 70 – just to prove you’re never too old to take on the Fellsman challenge!
The Fellsman Shield
Donated in 1962 by the Brigantes Rover Crew, the original organisers of the Fellsman, to encourage competitors to enter in groups and remain together. Since 1971 it has been presented to the Scout Group with the first three of its members to finish with the lowest total walking time.
The Service Trophy
A granite trophy, donated in 1971 by the Fellsman Committee to recognise the valuable service rendered by certain individuals, this trophy is awarded to the club with the first three of its members to finish with the lowest total walking time.
The Lumbutt’s Mill Trophy
First awarded in 1990, this trophy is presented to the team of three who complete the hike with the lowest total walking time. Each member of the team must be aged 50 or over.
The Mike Wooding Memorial Trophy
The trophy, awarded for the first time in 2007, has been donated by Mike Wooding’s friends in memory of his inspiration and support to other competitors on the event. This nominated award is given to an individual hiker or support volunteer who typifies Mike’s love for the challenge of the Fellsman and who has performed something exceptional and noteworthy during the event.
The Bear Grylls Award
The Bear Grylls Award, a framed pink t-shirt signed by Bear, is awarded each year to Scouting youth members that are the future of the event and provide something special or do something outstanding during the event.
The John O’Connell Award for Outstanding Services to the Fellsman.
This award was first presented in 2011 in memory of former Fellsman organiser John O’Connell. It is awarded to individuals who have provided outstanding services to the Fellsman event over the course of its history. In lieu of a physical trophy, each recipient will nominate a charity, to which a donation will be made in their name.
2019 winners of the Lumbutt’s Mill Trophy for the team of entrants over 50 with the fastest combined time (first three members to finish). Old But Not Dead Yet completed the event in 48hrs 38mins.